Date(s) - 15/09/2019
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Categories No Categories
Built on the site of a Carmelite burial ground this “Gothick” structure houses the remains of the first five Earls (starting in 1705) and other Duff family members, with several interesting memorials. Outside is a tomb that used to be in Banff cemetery and was falsely used by the 2nd Earl to claim a family connection to Robert the Bruce – with an interesting linked story involving the Carmelite monks from the nearby “Mount Carmel” (also worth a visit, a further 300m along the track). The mausoleum occupies an extremely peaceful and picturesque location above the River Deveron, so much so that it has been used for weddings. – It also contains several excellent examples of quite early Coade stone, an 18th century artificial stone that can weather extremely well – even here after more than 200 years in what is perhaps the most northerly example.
Disabled access – Partial – Outside – yes for wheelchairs; Inside – 3 steps to access but then flat.
Disabled Toilets – either at Duff House itself or with radar key near the rugby pitches, both passed about 1 mile before on the way to the Mausoleum.
Toilets – either at Duff House itself or near rugby pitches, both passed about 1 mile on the way to the Mausoleum.
Parking – near Duff House with about a mile walk. Disabled parking for 2 cars adjacent to the Mausoleum.
Refreshments are available at Duff House.